Friday, February 18, 2011

The Five Love Languages

Every one of us is familiar with at least one of these things to either show our love for someone, or to feel loved by someone else...

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

These are the FIVE languages of love, based on the popular books by Dr. Gary Chapman. These are the languages we use to show our love or affection for our spouse, children, other family members and friends.  If you haven't read any of the books by Dr. Chapman, I would recommend them to help tune you in to what gets your "love juices" flowing. However, there is also a website you can visit that explains more about these love languages:  THE FIVE LOVE LANGUAGES

It doesn't matter if you are married or single, its important to understand why you give in the way you give, and why you may not feel loved when you don't get what you need. You can take the ASSESSMENTS on this website to help you understand more about yourself and the ones you love. And, after you have taken the assessment, be sure to pass the information along to your family and friends, so they will be able to know and understand you better as well.
For the record, I took the assessment and, out of a possible of 12 points for each category, mine came out with an 11 in Words of Affirmation. Second place tied with a 6 for Physical Touch and Quality Time. does that mean I don't enjoy receiving gifts or having someone do something nice for me? Absolutely not! If the way you want to show your love towards me is by giving me a gift, I sure won't pass it up. LOL. But, this assessment just shows me that "things" are not as important to me as hearing someone encourage me, or hearing why they care about me. And, a written form of encouragement works just as well as verbal. 

So, now that you know my love language, I'd love to hear how YOUR assessment scores came out also. Please feel free to share!


  1. I have not taken this quiz in a while, but last time I came out strongly touch and words of affirmation. This is a good post. I was sharing the idea with one of the other therapists at work this week that I feel the foundation for good discipline with children is to fill their love tanks. I told her that a child with a full love tank is teachable and much more willing to work with parents. Your post goes right along with this thought.

  2. just took the quiz... I already knew my primary language, and the test confirmed it as physical touch. I so enjoy giving should/neck messages, hugging, holding hands, etc... I fell so close to Julee when I can touch her even in the smallest of possible ways. The second language was quality time. And my time with my family is a high value to me... sad to say my job does not allow for quality time on a regular basis - wish I could spend more quality time without being physically torn apart with my shifts and hours and work always changing...


Please leave a comment. I would love to know your thoughts! (NOTE: There will be a delay before your comment shows up due to all comments being moderated. Advertisements or spam will not be approved for publication.)