Sunday, September 13, 2015

Encouragement Challenge #29: Learn About The 5 Love Languages

These are the 5 love languages, based on the books by Dr. Gary Chapman. We use these to show our love and affection for family members and friends:
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

It is important to understand why you give in the way you give, and why you may not feel loved when you don't get what you need. So, I encourage you to take the assessment on THE 5 LOVE LANGUAGES website. It is a short quiz that helps you understand more about yourself and what makes you and your partner connect best. But, even though the assessment is geared for couples, it can be a beneficial tool to apply to family and friends as well.

After you have taken the assessment, share the results with your loved ones. Then, encourage them to take the test as well. You can use the results to find the best ways of bringing encouragement to each other when its needed.

I took the assessment and, out of a possible of 12 points for each category, mine came out with an 11 in Words of Affirmation. Second place tied with a 6 for Physical Touch and Quality Time. Receiving Gifts came in at a 5, and I only got a 2 in Acts of Service. These scores do not mean I don't like receiving gifts or having someone do something nice for me. It just means I respond best when I hear positive, kind, and encouraging words (either verbal or written), and it is also the form of "giving" that I do most often for others.

So, now that you know my love language, I'd love to hear how YOUR assessment scores came out also. Please share!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a comment. I would love to know your thoughts! (NOTE: There will be a delay before your comment shows up due to all comments being moderated. Advertisements or spam will not be approved for publication.)